Making it official

November 16, 2009 at 7:23 pm (Navel-Gazing)

Well, my disinclination to continue this blog has probably become quite apparent.  As I mentioned in the last post’s comments, it’s hard to remain motivated to post about WoW when you’re not playing WoW.   So, for the sake of anybody in the future who comes across this blog, I might as well make de jure what had only been the case de facto – I’m ending my stint as a WoW blogger.

What I didn’t mention previously, because I hadn’t yet reached any decision, is that even if things turn around for me personally in the near future (and they haven’t, as yet), I don’t think I will be returning to World of Warcraft, and while I “never say never”, I don’t expect that to change.

My relationship to WoW, and the degree to which I could be said to “enjoy” it, has always been a bit complicated, particularly once I began raiding.  It’s very easy for raiding to become a job instead of leisure.  More than that, though, I think I’ve come to the conclusion that my relationship to World of Warcraft has not always been particularly healthy.

I’ve always tended to become obsessively interested in things, and then crash.  WoW, by its nature, takes this tendency and amplifies it to what are, for me, destructive levels.  When it’s not merely my temporary fixation keeping me interested in something, but the fact that People Are Relying On Me ™, whatever small ability I have to maintain a balanced life collapses.

We’ve all heard the jokes about World of Warcrack.   And no, WoW is not (for me, at least) an addiction (I quit smoking cigarettes earlier this year, after a decade-plus pack-a-day habit – believe me, I know addiction).  But it has been a compulsion, at least at times.  And it’s been a distraction from focusing on aspects of my life that have really needed my attention.

I’ve met many wonderful people, people I’ll miss – to the folks from Legio Vici, my thanks for a great run.  To the folks from Milites Lucis, my apologies for too short a run.  To the WoW bloggers I’ve corresponded with, thanks for the laughs.  To my readers, thank you for reading.  I hope I entertained you.

4 Comments

  1. Sven said,

    Thanks for your contributions – it was an interesting blog & I’ll miss it popping up on Google reader.

  2. Chrno said,

    I’ve missed reading this blog and I will continue to. Good luck in that ‘real world’!

  3. Nightrush said,

    Kahleena, you will be missed, both in the blogosphere and in the game. We had a lot of fun in Legio Vici and Milites of the Incorrect Latin. We never really were raiding at the highest level, always about a level behind the most recent content, but it was a lot of fun when we got the peeps together to make a go at it. I do understand what you say about raiding becoming a job, because there is an aspect of needing to be present and focused over a certain time period. (And of having the time to spare, which is Karley’s and my problem these days.) I found it enjoyable because of the people I was playing with. Which is why I came to your blog in the first place. I really enjoyed your writing style, and I hope you can find yourself in a position to be able to start writing again, whatever your subject may be.

    Re: quitting smoking, definitely keep up the good work! I’m at about 2-2/3 years now, so I know how hard that is.

    Keep enjoying that fresh air, Kahleena, and I hope I see you back on the intertubes someday.

    Night

  4. Tamarind said,

    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

    Ahem.

    I’ll miss you very much and thanks for all the wonderful reading you’ve given us since you started blogging. On the other hand, I completely understand where you’re coming from and I wish you all the best 🙂

Leave a Reply

