I’m fine. Really. *twitch*

September 20, 2009 at 9:12 am (Navel-Gazing)

Well, I am officially no longer a WoW player.  Well, I’m officially no-longer-a-WoW-player-until-economic-matters-improve.

However, there’s still downtime when I can’t actually be tending to job-related-stuff, and what am I going to do, watch TV?  So, I decided to give a shot to a free MMO, and see what it’s like.  As it happens, Dungeons & Dragons Online just launched their free-to-play service.  I definitely could see the pricing model catching on, at least for a niche within the larger market, so it’s worth seeing how it works.  Plus, the company behind it is Turbine, and while there were aspects of Lord of the Rings Online I didn’t care for, it was certainly a quality game.  I did, back in my days DMing a group some years ago, know the D&D 3d edition rules pretty well, and I remember enough of them to hold my own, so I don’t have to deal with too steep a learning curve.

So, time to explore the world outside Azeroth.  No, not the real world.  That has bugs.  Of the bitey-stingey kind, not the crashy-laggy kind.  No it’s on to Eberron…and I’m passing the sardonic observations on to you, gentle readers.

3 Comments

  1. Tam said,

    WoW is missing you already but your blogging public remain fiercely loyal 🙂 I look forward to reading your adventures *twitch* somewhere else.

    • Kahleena said,

      Actually, if my traffic numbers are any indication, my blogging public is fiercely bored. 🙂 Ah well.

      • Night said,

        That’s probably due more to the few week break, than the switch in games. Good luck in your new adventures.

Leave a Reply

