Patch Day

August 4, 2009 at 9:07 am (WoW General)

Well, 3.2 is coming out today.  I can’t say I’m all that excited about the new PvE content.  While I’m not entirely shut out of the new 5-man instance because I finally (under the tutelage of a guildie) learned to joust (thanks Tsuk!), I’m still rather unhappy about an instance that requires it.  I suspect I’ll do it once, and that will be that.  Regarding the new raid instance, my guild isn’t ready for it, so the fact that it’s coming out today just means the front of Ulduar will be less crowded.

Plus, as I may have mentioned once or twice, I have a wee problem with my class’s T9 armor.

However, I will be taking many of my toons to the riding trainer.  Four who weren’t before will now be the proud owners of poky 60% ground mounts, two who weren’t before will be getting 100% ground mounts, and then I’ll have to see how much money I have left.  I suspect nobody’s getting their flying mounts or cold weather flying anytime soon.  But at least none of my toons on Duskwood will be pedestrians any longer.  I’m still a little sad about the loss of the Dreadsteed and Charger quest chains, but they were largely trivial nowadays anyway, as long as you had some level 80 friend willing to run you through the content, in which case, you aren’t really “experiencing” it anyway.  I did the charger questline with a friend (80 prot pally), because that’s the only way to do it nowadays, and while I would rather have done that than just buy it at the trainer, it was still a bit anemic.  Regarding the warlock chain, though, even when you significantly outleveled it, the keeping-up-the-nodes phase of the ritual was still, hands down, one of the most exciting things I ever experienced in WoW, and I will still drop everything and bring my mats to Dire Maul for another warlock who needs help just so I can do it again.

Anyone dying to do anything in particular today?  Or is there some other gem of awesomeness I missed in the patch notes?

2 Comments

  1. Shayzani said,

    See, even though it is very easy to do the quest in Dire Maul for your horse when the level cap is 20 levels higher than originally intended I still think its an amazing experience. That particular room in DM is amazing looking for one thing.

    Its the ceremony that makes it all so great. You aren’t just learning it at a trainer. Its something special that other people aren’t getting. You’re given a unique experience that confers a unique gift.

    The challenge of the quest itself is more or less irrelevant, its the ritual that matters.

    That’s how I see it anyway.

    • Kahleena said,

      Yeah, I agree – the “anemic” remark was more in regard to the pally quest chain, which doesn’t hold up quite as well – the final ceremony (judging all those spirits) in Scholo is nice and all, but nowhere near as cool as the ritual in Immolthar’s room, which is just *epic*. No matter your level, you still can’t click a node if one of the demons is beating on you, so you need someone to keep a dozen or more mobs off you. You still feel that time crunch of needing to get the node up right away. It’s a relatively level-blind experience, compared to most once-endgame content.

Leave a Reply

