In the Big Inning…

July 24, 2009 at 8:25 am (Running Guilds Into the Ground)

So, our first officer meeting was a somewhat informal affair.  We got some great advice from our former guildmaster (I know it’s a great relief to me and my co-founder that our former GM supports us, given how many LV members we’re poaching or trying to poach, though of course, people for whom raiding is the goal of the game would be leaving LV anyway, and better that the core remains intact, to the extent that’s possible).  We worked out a few details about who we want to ask to be officers.  We established, for ourselves, the sort of guild we’re looking to create (social-oriented non-hardcore raiding guild, much as our previous guild was, that is serious about raiding from invite time to group dissolution, but otherwise doesn’t try to dictate to people how to play).  And we now have enough guild members (as well as the correct composition) to run a heroic.  Assuming everybody’s logged on at the same time.  And we giggled about the prospect of a guild called “Soldiers of Light” (pause for everybody to look at the Latin and go “Oh, you were way off”) being led by a warlock.   So, things are starting to take shape.

Not long ago, I was considering whether I wanted to continue playing this game.  In large part, that was due to a lack of progression in my own goals (one can only farm Naxx25 so many times before losing the will to live, and LV didn’t have the 25-person composition to go further than one boss into Ulduar25).  As we dedicated ourselves to raiding Ulduar10, I felt a bit of that excitement return – I was seeing bosses I’d never seen before, learning fights, and progressing.  Obviously, when LV folded its raiding operations, that feeling of ennui came back in spades, particularly as I didn’t see myself not raiding, but I was really not relishing trying to find a raiding guild not filled to the brim with asshats.  So, the opportunity to build it myself, instead of looking for the ideal guild somebody else built for me, and build a guild that actually provides a positive play experience for other people, has me really excited.

Boy, that all sounds awfully sunny.  This will, naturally, be the point where drama rears its ugly head (“Hey Kahleena, somebody ninja’d the guild bank!”).  Must practice how to say “doomed” properly (it’s “doo-ooomed, DOO-OOO-OOO-OOO-OOOmed”, in one’s best Vincent Price voice, naturally.)

3 Comments

  1. Maldorel said,

    I will write on the chalkboard 100 times ” I will not ninja the g-bank”, and if need be do it in broken latin..:)

  2. Elathan said,

    Wanted to wish you all good luck Kahl and Mal. Once I do get more time to play on a regular basis (i.e. once my mission qualification is done sometime around end of september), I will be better able to make the decision of whether I want to raid again or not. Until then, if you see me pop on and need a tank, please give me a shout and I will be more than willing to help you all out 🙂

  3. Sylly said,

    I’m so happy for you, Kahleena! I wish you all the very best with the new guild! woot! Go get em! =)

Leave a Reply

