Because I am completely insane…

July 23, 2009 at 11:58 am (Navel-Gazing, Raiding, Running Guilds Into the Ground)

…a former guildie and I were chatting while I was leveling my mage in Un’Goro Crater (in contrast to Tamarind, I’m generally not a fan of the zone, largely because I don’t share Tam’s enthusaiasm for “f*ck-off enormous dinosaurs” with apparent stealth abilities, but the quests are piled up too thickly to not do the zone, and I’ve done all the 50-60 old world zones enough that I’m really just trying to get to 58 so I can head to outland).  The guy I was talking to is a former LVer, and we were discussing where we were headed in the way of a new guild.  I mentioned the hardcore guild I applied to (application since withdrawn, for reasons I’ll get into shortly), he talked about trying out a friend’s guild, but being unimpressed, and then those magic words were spoken*:

“We could always start our own.”

Somewhere, millions of voices cried out in terror, and were suddenly silenced.  Then they started laughing their asses off.

Said guildie quondam guildieque futurus, of course, was perfectly happy to defer GM-ship to me.  In point of fact, I think his exact words were “Not it!”

I’m doomed.  First officer’s meeting (both of us) is tonight.

*Please note:  said magic words probably weren’t spoken, or typed, at least not precisely, but conversation wound around to the general idea, in a way I can’t quite remember, and  I reserve the right to dramatically reinterpret what happened for the sake of storytelling, so piss off.

EDITED TO ADD:  On the bright side, I can’t imagine anything more likely to lead to a lot of hilarious bitterness, self-deprecation, angst, rage, and all-around entertainment than me trying to run a guild.  So this blog should be in good shape, if nothing else.

6 Comments

  1. Tamarind said,

    If I was on the right continent and in any way capable of being an asset to it *I would totally want to join your guild*. Good luck! And, here, you’ll need this. *straight jacket*

    • Kahleena said,

      If you were on the right continent, a member of the fluffy-bunny faction, and able to contribute, I’d be happy to have you. Alas, you’ll merely get to enjoy the wailing.

  2. Fierabras said,

    AHAHAHAAhhahahahaaa…sucker.

    In all seriousness good luck and let me know if i can help out with anything.

    • Kahleena said,

      Wanna be GM? Oh wait….:-)

  3. Night said,

    Who’s in the new guild so far? If it’s the former LV members I’m thinking of (particularly a rogue, a resto shaman and two warriors), I’m game. I’ll chat up Karley to see if she’ll join up.

    • Kahleena said,

      Drop me or Maldorel a line in-game. We’d be happy to have you both.

Leave a Reply

