RIP Dreadsteed Quest

June 11, 2009 at 4:28 am (Uncategorized)

Well, if the fact that it wasn’t mandatory didn’t kill it off, this certainly will.  At least before, it was arguably still a good deal financially (or at least not a loss), and you could, if you tried, get it wrapped up (with help) at level 60, so you were in fact getting it before you could buy it from the trainer at 61.  Epic ground mount at 40 means, in all likelihood, that the Dreadsteed is sold by the warlock trainer at 40 as well, in which case nobody will bother doing the quest at level 60 (I don’t see Blizzard going to the effort of adjusting a quest chain they were clearly phasing out anyway), as they’ll have already had the mount for 20 levels.  If they don’t make the dreadsteed trainable at 40, then nobody’s going to bother because they’ll have already bought the training 20 levels prior, so nobody’s going to sink the time and money in to get the mount for many times the cost.  They’ll just buy the dreadsteed spell at 61 and forget it.

It was a really incredible quest chain.  I’m sorry to see it go.  Same goes for the paladin quest chain, which I managed to do on Albeon, with help from a buddy of mine who plays a pally.  My druid will presumably never know the flight form quest chain, as she’s only level 40.  Too bad.  Something else unique and interesting in the game is going away.

I’ll call it here – in patch 3.2 or 3.3, Ritual of Doom will be trainable at the warlock trainer at level 60.

EDITED TO ADD:  Despite this, I think (most of) the mount changes announced are really good.  I especially love the boost in normal flying mount speed from 60% to 150%.  In TBC, 60% was annoying, but not game-breakingly so.  However, TBC didn’t have an equivalent to Storm Peaks or Icecrown.  I’ve been questing those on my pally, who still has normal flying, and it’s pretty insufferable.  No, my only issue is that I just really liked the Dreadsteed and Charger quests.  Guess I’m going to need to speed-level my Blood Elf pally – I’ve still never seen the Horde version of the charger questline, and I know that if I don’t hit 60 before this change goes live, I’m probably not going to bother.  That’s a lot of gold to spend to get a tabard (particularly as, on my Horde server, I don’t have a main character bankrolling my adventures).  Even if it is a very sweet-looking tabard.

FURTHER UPDATE:  Blizzard has confirmed class-specific mounts will be taught at the class trainer at the same level as the player could buy the applicable mount.  So yeah, by the time a warlock could do the dreadsteed quest, they’ll have had their dreadsteed for 20 levels.  Ah well.

1 Comment

  1. Temitope said,

    I have to cop to not doing the steed quests on either my Paladin or my Warlock. At the time I got the Pally quest, Arcanite was about 100g a bar on our server, so it would have cost more money than just buying the darned thing.

    Which is a shame, because I’m sorry to miss out on content, but I usually level with a friend, and so it was ultimately quicker and easier to just pay up front.

    I … umm … I did “Grand Theft Palomino” though.

Leave a Reply

