Wow. But not WoW.

June 9, 2009 at 2:42 pm (Uncategorized)

Well, I think I may have seen what finally draws me away from WoW.   Loved the KotOR single-player games, am a bit of a BioWare fanboy, and holy-crap-did-you-see-what-he-did-with-that-lightsaber-and-omigod-this-trailer-is-frakking-awesome!  Two and a half awful prequel movies notwithstanding, apparently some ember of Star Wars love still burns somewhere in me.  Pity Lucas didn’t let BioWare write the prequels.  They tend to actually give a rat’s ass about plot, character, and all those other things that were so sorely lacking.

Then again, I’m a total Middle-Earth fanboy as well, but LotRO didn’t do it for me.  So, we’ll see.  Plus, how on earth do you manage to get anybody to play anything other than a Jedi or a Sith?  “Hm, that lightsaber-wielding telekinetic badass who can leap tall buildings and hurl lightning from his fingers seems okay, but I’d rather play a mechanic!”

2 Comments

  1. Sylly said,

    haha! My husband is frothing at the mouth he’s so excited about the new star wars mmo.

  2. Admin said,

    I admit, my first reaction when I heard about it was disappointment, mainly because I thought the series worked great as a single-player RPG, and I’m not crazy about this trend of turning every single video game IP into an MMO (the inevitable Elder Scrolls MMO will probably depress me greatly, as single-player-ness is at the heart of what I love about that series). Gotta say, though, I’m giving Bioware the benefit of the doubt. Plus, checking out LotRO helped – not so much the game itself, but the fact that it tended to have a mature, cool community of players. The notion that such a thing was possible in an MMO was a revelation to me, accustomed as I am to a game full of hyperactive adolescents bouncing around being annoying and speaking in LOLCat. And yes, I am 34-going-on-80. Now you kids get the hell off my lawn!

Leave a Reply

