Great. Yet another WoW blog.

June 3, 2009 at 6:05 pm (Navel-Gazing) ()

Why on earth does the internet need someone else talking about their WoW-playing experience? It probably doesn’t. But why should I let that stop me? So, let me introduce myself.

I started playing World of Warcraft on December 25, 2006, right before The Burning Crusade was released. My only prior experience with MMORPGs was a month when I was an Everquest subscriber. That month convinced me I had no interest in MMOs. This was not exactly a surprise, as I am in many ways not the world’s most social person – I prefer to play my video games my own way, so single-player sandbox games like the Elder Scrolls series were typically more my cup of tea.

It was actually my father who started playing World of Warcraft first, and (as I usually do), I went to his apartment for Christmas, where he showed me the game. For the most part, he was grinding out Alterac Valley, and something watching him play his warlock hooked me. So, going home Christmas night, I downloaded the client, created a trial account, and created a lock of my own.

Despite my first exposure to WoW being AV, my interest in PvP died fairly early on, but I was surprised to discover, when I hit 70, that I really wanted to see more content, and my leveling guild’s first foray into Kara hooked me on raiding, so that’s the end-game direction I’ve always gone.

As to what I see with this blog, well, I don’t have the particular expertise of, say, Fallenman (the god of raiding warlock DPS). Mostly, I see this as a chance to vent a bit of what I’m feeling about WoW, indulge my writer bug, hopefully get into some good discussions (assuming I eventually get a reader or two), and maybe make some people laugh. We’ll see. In the meantime, welcome to my blog.

1 Comment

  1. Guild Drama « Fel Deeds Awake! said,

    […] wanted, frankly, was to deal with people (which has always been one of the aspects of MMOs of which I’ve been least enamored.)  I got a whisper from one of the former officers, telling me “Oh, everybody moved over to […]

Leave a Reply

